14 Month Old

Standard

She is a busy little thing! Still not walking, but is “walking” around with her VTech.  She LOVES her Dad and he gets called by his name too! When is she going to start saying Ma or Mama?!?

She copies her Dad’s ‘tickle-tickle-tickle’ by trying to say it and doing the hand movement allong…very sweet!

We all got sick a while ago and I tell ya, a sick baby is no joke. She ran a fever of 40 one early morning and we decided its best to take her in to the Hospital. Scary stuff…I also learned that a temp of 39 is fever and not the 38.

It looks like she is also going to be a big reader. We find ourselves wondering where she is because it’s all quite (and it is usually when it’s all quite that you know they are up to something!) and most of the time we find her sitting peacefully in front of her bookshelf ‘reading’ her books!!

We have this white tube of cream, and for some reason she really likes this tube…so when she gets her hands on it she will hold it out to me so that I can put a little bit in the palm of her hand. She then copies me rubbing the cream into her hands and then smelling it.

She is getting better and better at eating by herself. LOVES bread, any bread! Buns with raisins or chocolate bits, Bauernbrot, Toast and especially  old dried out crusty bits…hehe

I really want to stop breast-feeding and finding it not so easy! She still likes having a good feed and she especially likes to fall asleep while feeding, but her teeth! Man o man…its no joke any more. I have started to give her some warm milk with honey in it when she ‘tells’ me she wants to feed. And I try to let her fall asleep by herself instead of falling asleep while feeding. I actually have her here next to me sleeping soundly in her baby chair that changes in to a rocking chair. I placed her on it and at first it was great fun to be rocked (and a very good distraction from not having her usual feed) and then just like that she was fast asleep hehe.  So my plan is to cut down on the feeding as much as possible day by day and then hopefully, soon, no more.She does get very upset with me if she cannot get what she wants.

***

She is not breastfeeding any more. Took about a week. Gave her the warm milk and honey in a bottle with a No. 4 Avent teat, but have now changed it so she drinks it from her 6 to 18 month Nuk Sippy Cup instead and she actually drinks better from the sippy cup than the bottle. All good!!

***

Leave a comment